Monday, June 24, 2013

Richard Matheson - R.I.P

That great author Richard Matheson has passed away. Writer of so many classics including "I Am Legend," "The Shrinking Man," "A Stir of Echoes," "What Dreams May Come," "Bid Time Return," all of which were made into movies as well as many short stories that were eventually made into Twilight Zone and Night Gallery episodes.

He wrote a total of 14 episodes of Twilight Zone including "Third From the Sun", "Little Girl Lost," "The Invaders," "Nightmare at 20,000 Feet" and "Death-Ship".  He also wrote for many other series including Star Trek - "The Enemy Within", The Night Stalker and The Night Strangler as well as Trilogy of Terror and Amazing Stories.

Matheson wrote tons of short stories and novels but his influence on television and movies is very powerful.  In addition to books turned into movies he also wrote screenplays for movies such as Master of the World (1961), The Raven (1963) and Real Steel (2011).

It's hard to find an author with so much influence on Sci-Fi and Horror over the years and no doubt his work will continue to be enjoyed by new generations to come.

Matheson was 87

No comments:

Post a Comment